jorge luis borges / milonga de manuel flores (aníbal troilo)

MILONGA DE MANUEL FLORES
Manuel Flórez va a morir.
Eso es moneda corriente;
morir es una costumbre
que sabe tener la gente.

Y sin embargo me duele
decirle adiós a la vida,
esa cosa tan de siempre,
tan dulce y tan conocida.

Miro en el alba mis manos,
miro en las manos las venas;
on extrañeza las miro
como si fueran ajenas.

Vendrán los cuatro balazos
y con los cuatro el olvido;
lo dijo el sabio Merlín:
morir es haber nacido.

¡Cuánta cosa en su camino
estos ojos habrán visto!
Quién sabe lo que verán
después que me juzgue Cristo.

Manuel Flórez va a morir.
Eso es moneda corriente;
morir es una costumbre
que sabe tener la gente

TO DIE IS TO HAVE BEEN BORN
For the others the fever
And the sweat of the agony
And for me, four bullets
When daylight comes

Manuel Flores is going to die
That’s something for sure
Dying is a habit
That most people have

Tomorrow the bullet’s coming
And with the bullet, oblivion
So said Merlin the sage
To die is to have been born

And yet it pains me
To bid farewell to life
This thing one gets so used to
So sweet, and so familiar

At dawn l see my hand
l see my veins in my hand
l look at them oddly
As if they were someone else’s

How many things on their way
These eyes of mine have seen!
Who knows what they will see
After Christ has judged me

For the others the fever
And the sweat of the agony
And for me, four bullets
When daylight comes

Bir Cevap Yazın

